Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

CSK is a franchise cricket team that competes in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The team is based in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, and was founded in 2008. The team has been one of the most successful franchises in the IPL, having won three championships and finishing as runners-up four times. In this article, we will take a closer look at the CSK team, its history, players, and achievements.


History of CSK:

CSK was one of the eight teams that participated in the inaugural season of the IPL in 2008. The team was owned by India Cements, and the former Indian captain, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, was named the captain of the team. Under his leadership, CSK reached the final of the tournament but lost to Rajasthan Royals.

In the second season of the IPL, which was held in South Africa due to security concerns in India, CSK once again reached the final. This time, they defeated the Deccan Chargers to win their first IPL championship.

Over the next few years, CSK established itself as one of the most dominant teams in the IPL. They won the tournament again in 2010 and 2011, becoming the first team to win back-to-back IPL championships. They also finished as runners-up in 2012 and 2013.

After the 2015 season of the IPL, CSK was suspended for two years due to a betting scandal involving some of their officials. They returned to the IPL in 2018 and finished as runners-up in their first season back. In the 2019 season, they reached the final but lost to Mumbai Indians.

CSK IPL 2023 Team Players:

MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja (Captain), Moeen Ali, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Robin Uthappa, Dwayne Bravo, Ambati Rayudu, Deepak Chahar, KM Asif, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube, Mahesh Theekshana, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Simarjeet Singh, Devon Conway, Dwaine Pretorius, Mitchell Santner, Matheesha Pathirana, Subhranshu Senapati, Mukesh Choudhary, Prashant Solanki, C Hari Nishaanth, N Jagadeesan, Chris Jordan, K Bhagath Varma.

IPL 2023 Squad – CSK
Player Role Auction Price Nation
MS Dhoni (wk) WK-Batsman INR 12 Cr(R) India
Ruturaj Gaikwad Batsman INR 6 Cr(R) India
Ambati Rayudu (wk) WK- Batsman INR 6.75 crores(R) India
Devon Conway Batsman INR 1 crores(R) New Zealand
Subhranshu Senapati Batsman INR 20 Lakhs(R) India
Deepak Chahar Bowler INR 14 crores(R) India
Tushar Deshpande Bowler INR 20 Lakhs(R) India
Maheesh Theekshana Bowler INR 70 Lakhs(R) Sri Lanka
Simranjeet Singh Bowler INR 20 Lakhs(R) India
Matheesha Pathirana Bowler INR 20 Lakhs(R) Sri Lanka
Mukesh Choudhary Bowler INR 20 Lakhs(R) India
Prashant Solanki Bowler INR 1.20 crores(R) India
Mitchell josef Santner Bowler INR 1.90 crores(R) New Zealand
Rajvardhan Hangargekar Bowler INR 1.50 crores(R) India
Ravindra Jadeja(C) All-rounder INR 16 Cr(R) India
Moeen Ali All-rounder INR 8 Cr(R) England
Shivam Dube All-rounder INR 4 crores(R) India
Dwaine Pretorius All-rounder INR 50 Lakhs(R) South Africa
Ben Stokes All-rounder INR 16.25 Crores England
A Rahane Batsman INR 50 Lakhs India
Kyle Jamieson Bowler INR 1 crore New Zealand
Nishant Sindhu All-rounder INR 20 Lakhs India
Shaik Rasheed Batsman INR 20 Lakhs India
Ajay Mandal Bowler INR 20 Lakhs India
Bhagath Verma All-rounder INR 20 Lakhs India

Players of CSK:

CSK has always been known for having a strong squad of players. The team has a mix of experienced and young players who have the ability to perform under pressure. Some of the key players in the current CSK squad are:

  1. Mahendra Singh Dhoni – The former Indian captain and wicketkeeper-batsman has been the captain of CSK since the team’s inception. He is one of the most successful captains in the IPL and has led CSK to three championships.
  2. Suresh Raina – The left-handed batsman is one of the most consistent performers in the IPL. He has been with CSK since the beginning and has scored over 5000 runs for the team.
  3. Ravindra Jadeja – The all-rounder is a valuable asset to any team he plays for. He is a brilliant fielder, an accurate bowler, and a hard-hitting batsman.
  4. Faf du Plessis – The South African batsman is known for his consistency and his ability to play match-winning innings.
  5. Deepak Chahar – The right-arm fast-medium bowler is one of the key players in the CSK bowling attack. He has the ability to swing the ball and take wickets early in the innings.

Achievements of CSK:

CSK has been one of the most successful franchises in the IPL. They have won three championships (2010, 2011, and 2018) and finished as runners-up four times (2008, 2012, 2013, and 2019).

Apart from their success in the IPL, CSK has also won the Champions League T20 twice (2010 and 2014). The Champions League T20 was a tournament that featured the best domestic T20 teams from around the world.

CSK has also been known for its consistency in the IPL. They have qualified for the playoffs in every season they have participated in except for the 2016 season when they were suspended.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here