Home IPL 2023 PBKS (Panjab Kings)

PBKS (Panjab Kings)

PBKS (Panjab Kings)

Punjab Kings XI Punjab (PBKS)

PBKS formerly known as Punjab Kings XI Punjab is a franchise cricket team that plays in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The team is based in Mohali, Punjab, and was founded in 2008. Since then, the Punjab Kings have been one of the most exciting teams to watch in the IPL, with a loyal fan base and some big-name players.


PBKS Team History

The Punjab Kings were one of the eight teams that participated in the inaugural season of the IPL in 2008. The team was owned by a consortium that included Bollywood actress Preity Zinta, businessman Ness Wadia, and Mohit Burman. The team was captained by Yuvraj Singh and coached by Tom Moody.

In their debut season, the Punjab Kings made it to the semi-finals but lost to the Chennai Super Kings. In 2010, they made it to the semi-finals again but were defeated by the Mumbai Indians. The team made it to the playoffs again in 2012 but was knocked out in the eliminator by the Kolkata Knight Riders.

In 2014, the Punjab Kings had their best season yet, finishing as the runners-up to the Kolkata Knight Riders. However, they failed to make it to the playoffs for the next three seasons, finishing in the bottom half of the table.

In 2018, the team underwent a major overhaul, changing its name from Kings XI Punjab to Punjab Kings and appointing Ravichandran Ashwin as the captain. However, the team failed to make it to the playoffs in both 2018 and 2019.

In 2020, the Punjab Kings had a decent season, finishing in sixth place. In 2021, the team had a mixed season, winning six out of their 14 matches and finishing in sixth place once again.

PBKS Team Performance

The Punjab Kings have had a mixed record in the IPL, with some impressive performances but also some disappointing ones. Overall, the team has played 191 matches, winning 88 and losing 99, with four matches ending in no results.

The team’s batting has been its strength, with some big-name players like Chris Gayle, KL Rahul, and Mayank Agarwal in the lineup. The team has also had some impressive bowlers, with Mohammed Shami and Ravi Bishnoi leading the attack in recent seasons.

In terms of individual performances, KL Rahul has been the standout player for the Punjab Kings. The Indian opener has been in outstanding form in recent seasons, winning the Orange Cap for the highest run-scorer in the league in 2018 and 2020. Chris Gayle has also been a match-winner for the team, with his explosive batting and entertaining personality.


The Punjab Kings have been a popular and exciting team in the IPL since their inception in 2008. Although they have had a mixed record in the league, the team has always had some big-name players and loyal fans. With a new season of the IPL just around the corner, fans of the Punjab Kings will be hoping that their team can finally win the title that has eluded them so far.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here